Folk Fest

Now that the Folk Fest is over and I’ve recovered a bit, I thought I would check in with you all and update everyone. Folk Fest is one of my favourite times of the whole year. I love sitting outside on the hill at Gallagher Park listening to music I love and discovering new artists. A lot of my family and close friends go, so it’s always special to see them all there. Going with them is definitely a tradition at this point. I have so many great memories of sitting on a tarp on the hill, listening to music and spending time with my favourite people. It’s amazing. If you haven’t been before, I would definitely recommend checking it out next year. It’s worth it.

Now I’m sure by this point some of the more skeptical among you are wondering why I gush about a music festival on a blog about frugality. Aren’t music festivals expensive to go to? Likely. How do I get around that? I volunteer. Volunteering is one of my favourite strategies for experiencing great things on a cheap or free basis. Folk Fest is no different. By volunteering, I get into the festival for free and I get six free meals over the course of the four days. I also get to see a different side of the festival than I would as a patron, which I love. My volunteer role has me meeting performers, which I would never get to do otherwise, and interacting with all other kinds of cool people. There is really only one tiny downside, which is that sometimes I have to miss music I want to see, but even that is not impossible to overcome. If I plan ahead of time, I can usually swap shifts with other people on my team so that I can see the music I want. Basically, to me, volunteering for Folk Fest is a win-win-win-win-win from a happiness and a frugality standpoint.

This year, I still included a line item in my budget for $100 to spend at Folk Fest. Why? Well, I really enjoy Folk Fest and I wanted to be able to do some fun things, like have a beer in the beer gardens or buy a CD if I really like a performer. So, how did I do? Well, I bought a few things:

  • Drinks in the beer gardens with friends
  • An AWESOME Folk Fest hat (I also needed a hat, so this purchase was a win-win)
  • A couple of snacks, coffees, etc.

However, I was well able to stay within my budget. I am happy to report that I only spent $77 over the course of the weekend! To give you some context, the amount of money I spent on the whole weekendΒ is about the same cost as a ticket for one day. I’m definitely pleased with those results!

xoxo
-Katie

2 thoughts on “Folk Fest

  1. Fellow folk music aficionado here. We don’t get a lot of folk festivals where I am, but when the occasion arises, I’m there faster than you can say “Highway 65 Revisited”.

    Looking forward to more adventures from you in the world of frugal living.

    Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

